Trip to Manila

I went to Manila to attend a seminar about “Investing in the Stock Market Today” conducted by Citisec Online at the Phil. Stock Exchange in Ortigas.  The seminar not only introduces me to the world of stock exchange but also changes my views on how the Philippine economy is faring. 

The seminar was on Feb. 11 and I had 2 days to roam around before flying home.  My itinerary was:

Day 1:  Feb. 11: Airport – Townhouse – SM Megamall – Phil. Stock Exchange – then back

Morning: Arrival from Cebu, settle at Townhouse Hostel at Bayview Drive which is 10 mins from NAIA.

Afternoon: Townhouse to SM Megamall by bus (non-aircon): P18.00

Walked to Phil. Stock Exchange from SM Megamall.  I could take the taxi but I opted to walk to be able to take a grasp of the area.  This is more or less 30 mins. walk.  Seminar was 2:00 to 6:30 p.m.  afterwhich I re-traced my way back to the Townhouse.

Day 2: Feb. 12: Townhouse – Luneta/Rizal Park – National Museum – Manila Ocean Park – Intramuros – Quiapo – Baclaran – Townhouse

Morning: From the Townhouse I took an aircon FX to Luneta/Rizal Park: P20.00.  Then walked the entire length of Luneta to see the National Museum.  Unfortunately, it was still closed.  Then walked backed the entire length of the park to Manila Ocean Park (entrance P400.00) just in time to see the Mermaid Show.  Walked across Luneta to go to Intramuros.  This is about an hour walk.

At Intramuros, I was in time to catch the noon mass.  Then I strolled around to see the Comelec building which is attractive in its bricks.  Then I went inside the famous Fort Bonifacio.  It is a huge complex and worth seeing to know more about the Philippine history.

Then I took a jeep to Quiapo (P10.00).  Then took a jeep to Baclaran (P15.00).  From Baclaran I took a jeep to the Townhouse (P7.00)

Day 3: Feb. 13: Townhouse – Las Pinas Bamboo Organ – Baclaran – Quaipo – Malacanang – Quaipo – CCP Complex to Star City via Vito Cruz – Mall of Asia – SM Megamall – Tiendesitas – SM Hypermarket – SM Megamall – Townhouse

The highlights of day 3 is the amazing world famous bamboo organ and their museum at St. Joseph Parish church (entrance: P50.00).  At Star City (entrance P60.00), it was really an experience to have a foot spa by doctor fish (P50.00).

bamboo organThe world famous bamboo organ at St. Joseph Parish church in Las Pinas.

Foot spa by doctor fish at Star City

Day 4: Feb. 14: Flight at 9:30 a.m.

Because of too much walking, my lotion when I arrived at the Townhouse and in the morning after bathing is Omega Pain Killer lotion.  It helped ease my aching legs.

See pictures here: http://www.friendster.com/viewphotos.php?a=862293427&uid=43510967

This entry was posted in Trips and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

